Google Search

Google

Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Happy10th Anniversary Otoreview.my!!!

Happy 10th Birthday Otoreview.blogspot.my

I Jeff Lim, owner and editor of this blog would like to thank all Readers/Subscribers for your support.  This blog turned 10 years old on 21 August 2016.  How time flies...  It seemed like yesterday I created this blog.  I created this blog on 21 August 2006.   This blog started off initially as a Malaysian Used car review blog.
My priceless 1st post back in 21 Aug 2006:
http://otoreview.blogspot.my/2006/08/full-review-ford-laser-tx3-b8.html

As time goes by, it slowly incorperates "Automotive Industry stuff", New car review, Highlighted Roadshows, Antique/Classic cars, Gadgets review, Product reviews, A little bit of Politics (NAP, AFTA, AP issues, Racism, Sexism), Best/worst resale values and lastly Advertorial (for Honda Malaysia and Nuffnang).

I, Jeff Lim shall keep this blog running hoping that there's Advertisers/Sponsors and "ASSISTANT EDITOR/S" as I have to admit it's DIFFICULT updating this blog ALONE.  I SHALL GIVE my assistant editors FULL POWER to post and edit (your own post) what he/she deemed fit.  BUT PLEASE Don't delete/edit my post.

I START FROM "0" back in 2006.  Hoping to be spotted/hired as a Car Writer/Journalists.  But I'm only an A-level holder.  I improved my English because I collect car magazines and been reading car magazines since I was 10 years old (1989).  My role model are "Shahriza Hussien", "LeePS", "Chips Yap", "Faisal Shah" and "Chris Wee".  I already built up my portfolio 1/3 of this blog were "Original Jeff Lim's production".

UPDATE: 25/8/16:  This blog just passed 2,000,000th Visitors...  I know it's CRAP for a 10 years blog but I'm contented with average 600-1000 visitors daily consistantly.

Thanks for your support...

Again, thanks everyone for your support...  Here's to the NEXT 10 years!

New Hyundai Elantra price clarification and FAQ

In this blog entry, I wanna clarify the New 2015 Elantra Pricing...  

Apparently, the price RM63,000 to RM65,000 you see in Mudah or Carlist were "PRE-OWNED" unit without GST, Insurance and registration fee.  After adding the above price's RM72,000.  PRE-OWNED's used Demo or Manager's car Hyundai Ampang dealer bought bulk from Hyundai Sime Darby HQ.

LATEST Update: Just call Danial (ex colleague) of One Auto all the Pre-owned All Got 3 ppl queueing LOU standing by...  No more stock...

What is Pre-owned, How's the Warranty like:


Latest stock status as at 24 August 2016: 1.6 left EX Plus, nationwide left 10-20 units only.  1.8 Premium got Hundreds of units all colour available.

Below are the clarification by HQ Staff, Laura extracted from Lowyat Forum.  Please double click to enlarge.  Source:  https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3088622/+2800


NEW Car price as below:

1.6 EX Plus: RM80,900.
1.8 Premium: NOW REAL PRICE: RM100,716.20

Both price OTR without Insurance and registration fee after Cash rebate.

Interested, Please call Me, Jefferson Lim at 012-6852-718 for more information.  Location: Hyundai Setia Alam OR Sri Kembangan.

Why Elantra?

1) Winner of 40+ awards Worldwide including North American Car of the Year 2012, Canadian Car of the Year, South Africa Car of the year...

2) 5 stars ANCAP rating
- IIHS USA Top picks 

Thanks to Advance High Tensile Steel, Check out below: 


3) C-segment sedan at B-segment price.  Check out the rear seat space:

4) Quite fuel saving in it's class at 6.9l/100km mixed driving for 1.6 and 8.4l/100km for 1.8.

5) Decent performance: 0-100km/h in 11 secs for 1.6 and 9.5 secs for 1.8.  Top speed 195km/h for 1.6 and 210km/h for 1.8.  100km/h at 2800rpm only (1.6) and 2600rpm (1.8).

6) Advanced Traction Control VSM Standard Across the range.

7) 485 litres Boot space with 60:40 split fold rear seats and 3 Rear ISOFIX Anchor point.

8) Reasonable Maintenance costs:

1.6:

1.8: 

9) Improved Resale value.  Resale Value now On par with same age Altis 1.8: (Double click to enlarge)



10)  So far since launched in April 2012, only 4 major issue reported:


1)  Problem: My complaint is the handling issue when hit speed bump or potholes. I dont know the correct term, but the cabin sway too much.  FYI, that handling issue when hit bump or potholes is what I referred to as fish tail problem.  It can be eliminated or greatly reduced after install front and rear strut bars such as Ultra Racing.  Those bars are not costly averaging RM200 each.

Solution: Stock absorbers, doesn't matter came from where (Korea/ Malaysia), whatever revision, whatever design they claim, it will not solve your sway issue. This is a fact. Worldwide Elantra/ Avante owner have this issue. Drive your car slowly, and safely, you won't notice this issue. That's the advice from them.

So do not waste time to claim. You felt improvement cause the absorber is new and stiff, once it's settle down with few months of usage, it will be the same.

Also, there are some SC suggest owner add shim plate to the axle/ wheel. Do not waste your money as well.

Lastly, those who keen to solve / improve the driving experience of their Elantra, here's what you can consider:
- Add a rear sway bar/ rear lower link. This will cut down the sway for 50-60%.
- Change your absorbers to sports/ stiffer rating one. This will cut down sway up to 90%.
- Up size your rim/ widen your tyre profile. Cut down the body rolling and possible lesser sway.

NOTE: Only 1st batch SKD (Semi Knock Down) units.  Problem FIXED ON 2014 CKD Facelift.  

2) PROBLEM: Now, i have my air cond compressor malfunction. The air cond work just fine only that it doesn't blow cool wind. I have no choice but to leave my car in SC. I dont think anyone can drive in Malaysia without air-cond especially for city drive.

SOLUTION: Claim SC.  Under warranty.

3) PROBLEM:  Apparently, they told me that the steering have "locking/knocking" sound which i need to change the part inside which cost RM4.xx and labor around RM1xx.xx. Does this happen to other Elantra user as well?

SOLUTION: Is covered by warranty.  Well known issue in Hyundai Elantra and Kia Cerato.


4) PROBLEM: High-up rear seating which affects passenger above 180cm.
SOLUTION: Affecting 1st batch SKD units only. Fixed on 2014 CKD Units.

Please Read more at Lowyat Forum: Elantra Club:

Conclusion: The Elantra MD is a Good Car with Timeless Exterior Design, Top Notch Safety, Spacious Interior and Boot and Decent resale value.  So go ahead and buy one without Regrets.  Rating 8/10 for 1.6 and 9/10 for 1.8.

That's all folks, thanks for having the time and patience to read this blog entry.  This is Partially my work.  

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

CLOSE UP REVIEW: New Proton Persona

In this blog entry, I'm covering a CLOSE UP review of the NEW Proton Persona which just been launched 2 hours ago... The New Iriz based Persona's priced from RM46,000 to RM59,800. Do come back in a week's time for my Complete update/ review.



First Impression Rating:
Standard 7.5/10 (8.5/10 Manual)
Executive: 8/10
Premium: 8.5/10 - 6 airbags.  FULL Spec.

Points deducted for awkward proportioned Exterior design which makes the Wheels looks tiny.  Rear passenger legroom and THAT Punch CVT.

I will update this space after test drive appointment this Friday.  Stay tuned...

Without further ado, let's proceed to the Youtube Playlist of the New Persona. Prepare at least 1 hour of your time to go through. I shall keep adding interesting videos of the Persona to the playlist...



All new Proton Persona 2016

1) 2016 Proton Persona 1.6 Standard MT/CVT
# 1.6 litre VVT engine
# 107 hp at 5,750 rpm, 150 Nm at 4,000 rpm
# 5.6 l/100 km for 5MT (at 90 km/h)
# 6.1 l/100 km for CVT (at 90 km/h)
# Ecodrive Assist
# Reflector halogen headlamps (height adjustable)
# Rear fog lamps
# Front and rear parking sensors
# 15-inch wheels in grey (with 185/55R15 Silverstone Kruizer tyres)
# Unpainted side mirrors and door handles
# Power adjustable wing mirrors
# Body-coloured B-pillars
# Remote key fob and manual key start
# Single-DIN head unit with Bluetooth
# Fabric seats
# Height adjustable driver’s seat
# 510-litre boot with space saver spare tyre
# Isofix child seat anchors with top tether
# Two airbags (front driver and passenger)
# ABS with EBD and BA
# Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
# Hill-hold assist
# Front disc brakes, rear drums

PERSONA 1.6 STANDARD MT
RM 46,800.00/ Metallic
RM 46,350.00/ Solid

PERSONA 1.6 STANDARD CVT
RM 49,800.00/ Metallic
RM 49,350.00/ Solid
___________________________________________

2) 2016 Proton Persona 1.6 Executive CVT
[Adds on from the above variants]
# Front fog lamps
# Body-coloured side mirrors and door handles
# Rear bootlid spoiler
# Double-DIN head unit with Bluetooth
# Gloss titanium chrome centre console housing
# Rear USB charging ports
# 60:40 split-folding rear seats
# Fabric door trim

PERSONA 1.6 EXECUTIVE CVT
RM 55,800.00/ Metallic
RM 55,350.00/ Solid

___________________________________________

3) 2016 Proton Persona 1.6 Premium CVT
Adds on:
# 15-inch wheels in silver (with 185/55R15 Goodyear Assurance tyres)
# Black B-pillars
# Keyless entry with push start button
# Touchscreen head unit (Android-based) with Bluetooth and reverse camera
# Leather seats and steering wheel
# Leather door trim
# Power retractable wing mirrors
# Six airbags (dual front, side and curtain)
# 2016 Proton Persona 1.6 Premium SE CVT

PERSONA 1.6 PREMIUM CVT
RM 59,800.00/ Metallic
RM 59,350.00/ Solid

Colour Choices:

Below Photos sourced from:
(First appeared here, According to Google Photos.  These photos also appeared in Lowyat Forum, twitter)

 


Again, do come back for FULL REVIEW in a weeks time...

Friday, August 19, 2016

How I celebrate my 37th birthday

The date 13 August's a very significant date.  It's World Lefthanders' day.  It's also my Birthday.  I was born in Pantai Medical Centre on 13 August 1979.

How I celebrate my 37th birthday?  There's a saying a picture's worth 1000 words.  Here are the pictorial "essay"...  Enjoy...

 1 day before my birthday.  Gifts from My immediate family, the Card's hand made by my elder sister while the Angpows were from my Mum, 1st auntie, 3rd auntie.
 Above and below: 1 week before my birthday.  Early birthday gift from a fan of mine.  Content producer of Car Malaysia.

 Above: the Gift from Jerrica.
 Above and below: Screenshots from my Iphone 5.

 Above: and below: at 10:30am went to DUMC for their Christmas Production Briefing.  I was involved in Props team.


 
 Above: My FREE Chatime birthday drink.  Below: My free Cake from Starbucks.
Chocolate Tuxedo and Mango Fruit Jelly Yogurt. 

 From 3pm to 6:30pm.  I went to Neo Damansara, Mustapha Kamal Hall.  #SMDUclassof96 reunion.  20th year anniversary reunion.  I actually left the school in the middle of Form 4 Balau (August 1995) to Hong Kong.  Spent my last 4 years of High school in Island School Hong Kong.  Did GCSE O'level and A-levels in Hong Kong.  Reason's because my dad transferred by a Foreign bank from KL to Hong Kong HQ.

 Above: The Icebreaker Prize I won.
 Above and below: Scenes from the reunion...

 Above: The Lucky Draw prize which I won.

After the High school reunion, I went home for Family birthday dinner while my Ex-school mates went to pub for Round 2.  Here are the dinner photos:
 Above: From my Youngest sister...
 Above: Home cooked noodles by mum.
 Above and below: Takeaway from a Vegetarian Restaurant

 Above: Another dish takeaway from a Vegetarian restaurant in Section 17, PJ.
 Above: My Cake.  Blueberry Cheese Cake from Secret Recipe.
 Above: Me and my immediate family members.  Dad not in picture as he's still in Saigon, Vietnam.
 Above: How the dishes gelled together...
 Above and Below: My Gifts as at end of 13 August.

Lastly, my 95 years old Paternal Granny.

Well, 6 days after my birthday on 19 August, my cell group gave me and another August Baby Regina a birthday cake and gifts...

 Above: My gift which I forgotten to take home 1 hr later.








That's all folks, thanks for having the time and patience to read this blog entry.  If want to copy please quote "SOURCE: Otoreview" OR "Source from Jeff Lim blog", Or give credits/links to my blog. Copy like a man,  Don't plagiarise.  

There was an error in this gadget