Google Search

Google

Featured Post of the Week

FULL REVIEW: Hyundai Sonata LF Nu 2.0

In this Blog entry, I'm reviewing a Long overdue Review on the Sonata LF Nu 2.0 D-CVVT. You are looking at All new Sonata LF 2.0.  I d...

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Happy Diwali! and Mum's Birthday

Happy! Deepavali and Mum's Birthday

Today's my Day 10 Intermittent Fasting which happens to be Deepavali and Mum's 68th Birthday.  Happy Deepavali and Blessed Birthday mum.

 Had above for Breakfast at 8:30am.  Below: Photo taken back in 16 October 2017.  My mum's God daughter treat Dinner for her.

 Above and below: Today Lunch at my Mum's sister's Home at 12:45pm

 Above and Below: Desserts.

 Above:  Tea break at 4:30pm.  Shared with sister.
 Above and below: Take away from Kuan Yin Vegetarian Restaurant.






 Above: My 96 years old Granny.  She's the reason why My Penang Hokkien so Proficient.  Since baby until today, I speak Penang hokkien At Home.

 Above: My dinner at 8pm.  So TODAY'S INTERMITTENT FAST FAILED.  9-1-4.30-8pm.  11 hours of Binging...
 Above: my sister feeding my Granny.

 Above and Below: Mum's birthday cake.

 Above: Family group photos.
 Above and Below, the Birthday cake.  From Klang.

 Above and below, My Dog, Bobby the Golden Retriever.


That's all folks, thanks for having the time and patience to read this blog entry.  Originally Published in my Fitness Blog jeffwhlim-reborn.blogspot.com

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Dunlop SP Sport J5 tyres. 10000km report

In this blog entry, I'm reviewing My Daily Ride's Tyres.  I changed 4 of these tyres back in December 30 2016 at RM142.00 per tyre including GST, Balancing, Installation and Alignment (RM127 per tyre without alignment).  This is my Report after 10,000km using the 165/60R14 75H tyres in my 2013 i10 1.25 CVVT.  These tyres are made in Continental Factory, Alor Setar.  Local tyres. 
I bought from this shop Below in Shah Alam.  Overall a Satisfied experience.
Apparently, this is an Underrated tyres.  I'd say Grip and comfort level As good as Michelin XM2.  It's quieter too.  I heard not many Tyre shops Selling these tyres due to Low margin, which is sad.

It's very "Happy" on Trunk roads OR windy roads.  Also, it went through recent floods in Shah Alam with no aquaplaning, it stayed planted on the road.
Above: Fresh Week 45, 2016 tyres.  I installed at Week 52.  10,000km later, only "worrying" thing is "Burning RUBBER SMELL"  during my daily drive from Section 17, PJ to Chan Sow Lin.  And After a Multi-storey car park to Paradigm mall.  Sample 2 part Youtube videos below:



Below paragraphs are taken from Continental Sime Tyres press release:

“Travelling in the rain can be a nerve-wracking experience, so a tyre with superior wet weather traction can be a big safety benefit for drivers who need to travel at speed in wet conditions,” said national sales manager Sim Wee Chung. “Both our Dunlop new lines are 100% engineered with German technology and designed with Malaysia’s road conditions in mind.
The sportier Formula D05 features wiper blocks that increase road contact area, with the edge effect reducing the film of water between the tyre and the road edges, resulting in improved braking performance in the wet.  Please read my review on the Dunlop Formula D05 tyres back in 2015.
Link: http://otoreview.blogspot.my/2015/09/dunlop-formula-d05-review-vol3.html

The tread compound has also been enhanced for better wet weather traction, while the advanced Silica Compound Technology ensures a wider operating temperature range compared to the previous Formula D01. Four wide, equally distributed longitudinal grooves accelerate water evacuation and equalise the water dispersion rate.

The more comfort oriented and fuel efficient SP Sport J5 uses a new generation of full silica compound which provides high wet weather grip and improved rolling resistance. The edge tie-bar works like a dam, dispersing water at high velocity, while an optimised number of sipes and grooves enhances water wiping while maintaining a large contact area, ensuring excellent braking performance in the wet.

The Dunlop Formula D05 is available in 28 sizes ranging from 15- to 18-inches in diameter, while the Dunlop SP Sport J5 retails in 17 sizes ranging from 12- to 15-inches in diameter. Continental Tyre Malaysia claims that together, they cover more than 90% of Malaysia’s passenger car tyre sizes.
Above, Like the Dunlop Formula D5, the J5 also feature new dry and wet weather wear indicators, the first to be available in Malaysia. The rain indicator is shallower than the sun one, letting owners know when to change their tyres for optimum wet weather performance.

Above: treadwear 340, Traction A, temperature A.


Above: This is actually A sister design to Dunlop Formula D05.  Except this caters for "Narrower AND Higher profile series/size".
Without further ado, let's Proceed to Logbook.

Mileage upon installing tyres: 46,800km (30/12/2016)
Mileage today: 56,700km (26/9/2017)
Mileage covered: 9,900km.

Fuel Consumption:
BEST: 436km / 29.272km / 14.9km/l  (90% Highway/ 10% city, Melaka day trip). Petron RON95

WORST: 280km / 30.93l / 9.05km/l.  (90% City, 1 hour KL Jam)  Shell RON95

Average: 11.8km/l.

Before  I go, here's a Parting shot:


RATING: 9/10.  HIGHLY Recommended Bargain Alternative to Michelin XM2.

Monday, August 21, 2017

Happy 11th Birthday Otoreview.my

In 21 August, back in 2006, I created this Otoreview.my blog.  So Blessed 11th Birthday!

Back then, I was a 2nd year Uni Student with lots of free time and frustrated with Brief and Summarized Car review.  I started with Reviewing my Dad's ex-car.  Ford TX-3. Photo below:

Slowly, I did Magazine scans, like this: CARS.MY, Sheep vs Wolf .  Youtube playlists...  But what set My blog apart is it's Anti-Plagiarism one.  Even If I copied, I make sure I acknowledge OR Declare the source.

I'm very sorry to all readers and subscribers over lacking of Posting or update since 2015.  In fact, this blog is semi-active from 2014 onwards because it's a 1 Man show blog.  And the fact that I can't multi-task and short attention span means 1 blog entry, car review takes up to 6 hours.  I'm also contented that I produced 1000th post back in April.  

Also, recently, My blog was Cloned, so another setback.  Another factor's Conflict of interest.  I actually created Many car reviews like Kia Grand Carnival, Subaru XV, Kia Sorento and Sportage, VW Tiguan, Honda CR-V. But I can't post due to my work nature.  

I can only post Reviews on my own car, Hyundai and Mazda.  I review Perodua and Proton sometimes because it's a Rakyat car.  
Thanks everyone for continuous Support.  Here's to many more years to come...



Friday, July 28, 2017

LONGTERMER 2: 9th year report: Honda Civic FD2 (Season 2, vol 3)

In this blog entry, I'm posting my Family's ride.  The Honda Civic FD2 2.0 IVTEC.  I called it Season 2 volume 3 because I haven't been updating it since July 29 2016.  This is the 9th year or 108th month we owned the Honda Civic FD2 2.0I-S.  

The reason why it hasn't been updated for 12 months is because there's very little things to write about.  Apparently, this is a Very Reliable car.  

My cousin was surprised to learned that the Engine mountings and Rear Double Wishbones Suspensions are still Factory Fitted.  

His 3 years Old Proton already changed 1 set Engine Mountings and 1 set absorbers.  We stopped servicing with Honda on the 6th year owning the Civic.  Anyway for your reference, maintenance cost of the Civic FD2 without Hidden wear and tear stuff like Rear Wheel bearing, Absorbers, Brake pads.


Nothing much to update.  Firstly, The Good news.  Last year, Allianz Insurance gave us 10% loading on premium.  This year, My company's Insurance only have Tune insurance WITH NO LOADING but got Betterment and only ONCE towing.  

As Kah Motor CSL's just across the road, I decided to walked to submit quotation.  Lo and behold, No LOADING.  Also, NO Betterment, use ORIGINAL parts, No Excess, 200km radius towing.  Agreed Value clause...  This package by MSIG is called HONDA INSURANCE PACKAGE.  

Click the link below for more information:

Basically this is the FINAL YEAR I get to enjoy HIP (Honda Insurance Package).  Thank God!  

 The Civic FD have 2 oil change using Castrol magnatac and Original Honda Oil filter, 1 ATF Change and 1 driver side power window change apart from Annual Road tax and Insurance renewal.  Very reliable and low maintenance car.   

Above: 450 litres boot space with 60:40 split folding rear seats (Below).
 

 This is the Only Generation Civic in Malaysia with 60:40 split fold rear seats.  The latest Civic FC have 60:40 split rear seats BUT in USA, Indonesia and Australia only.

Over the past year, the Civic Clocked 9500km only.  It's rarely used as My dad, was working Oversea 1/2 of the year.  And I've been driving my Hyundai i10 daily.  The Civic thus, relegated to Tuesday night (fetching people to Church) and Sunday car.  You see, i10's a Cute and Friendly car.   This Civic On the other hand's Stressful and always kena Bully.  How?

1) People deliberately Not give way despite giving signal.  Close gap on purpose.  The i10 from far people gave way already.
2) People challenge you for a Race.  Especially Vios, Elantra, Myvi, Civic FB, Modified Wira.
3) Bumper to bumper crawl, Civic kena picked on.  The i10 people give way.
4) Low slung seating position than i10 makes me insecure and more blind spots.  Stressful.


My opinion on this Honda Civic FD2 2.0S IVTEC:

The 8th generation Civic FD's the last Civic With Double wishbones suspension, only Civic with 60:40 split fold rear seat back and the Most stylish Civic inside out. This is the Best Civic.  Apparently, Malaysians agree with me as reflected by it's Strong Resale Value. First batch 2006 Civic FD are still selling at RM40,000 to RM46,000 depending on conditions. That's Mind boggling for a 10 years old Car.  An astounding 52% retained value in 8 years and 40% retained value in 10 years.   This is the reason why my dad's Keeping the Civic for another few years.

SHOULD YOU BUY A USED CIVIC FD?

Why not?
Honda Civic in General are Extremely tough cars.  The 1st 3-generations are victim to Rust only. Many Civic from the 4th generation EF onwards (1987 to 1991) are still running on Malaysian roads.  The 4th-Generation's where Rust-proofing extensively applied by Kah Motor.  There are Still many 5th and 6th generation on the road which are between 16 to 24 years old yet the EG (Dolphin) and EK (Taai Ngan Chai) still Desired by Ah Bengs.  Average lifespan of a Civic unless Total-loss or stolen are 20 years!!!  So say you bought a used 2008 model, on average the Civic FD can last you another 12-14 years.



Above: Note still Stock Standard 6-disc In-dash CD/MP3/WMA CD-Changer Head unit with Aux and Volume adjust according to Speed or Noise.  Eg. The higher the speed or engine noise, the higher the volume.  Also, Steering wheel Audio control. 

Without further ado, let's proceed to Logbook.
Purchase price: RM126,000 (less NCB)
Current value: RM56,000.
- 9 years depreciation: 45% retained value
Interest rate: PBB 2.35% (back in July 2008) for 6 years loan.
LAST INSTALLMENT: July 2014.  

Mileage last update: 135,800km. July 28 2016.
Mileage Today: 145,300km


Km used last 12 months:9500km
Mileage per month: 792km  (12 month Average)
Average Mileage per month past 108 months: 1345km only.
FUEL CONSUMPTION (July 29, 2016 to July 29 2017):

Best: 14.2km/L  80% highway/20% city, driven by my dad Petronas RON95. 
WORST: 9km/L (Shell RON95) 80% City/20% Highway driving driven by ME.
Average FC: 11.2km/l

ALL TIME:

Best: 15.35km/l (RM0.12/km) (90% highway driving) (20 August 2010)
Worst: 7.1km/l (80% City driving, 20% HARD DRIVING) (October 27, 2012)

PERFORMANCE:
0-100km/h: 9.2 seconds normal acceleration (8.9 seconds with paddle-shift)
Top speed: Max I driven is 190km/h but I know it can go up to 227km/h. Someone from Youtube tried it.

EXPENSES Last 12 months:
1) Roadtax And Insurance Renewal: RM810.40 + 381.00 = RM1,191.40
2) Changed ATF Brake fluid: 100+20 = 120
3) 2 oil change.  Castrol magnatac (average 150 per oil change incl. Oil filter and Washer drain plug.
4) Driver side power window motor RM250
5 Petrol and Toll...
6) Other expenses...  Such as PVC Floor mat, Car Ionizer, Custom made Driver side seat cover.  Total less than 1k over 1 year. 

Before I go, here's my parting shot:



That's all folks, thanks for having the time and patience to read this blog entry.  An Original Jefferson Lim's production.  Copy like a man, don't plagiarize.